2021 Small Business Innovation Research Award Recipient

April 30, 2021 – Experts agree. Creating vigorous hybrids is the most promising way to improve wheat yields. A PowerPollen® system for wheat would help revolutionize hybrid wheat seed production. Developing this technology is challenging because of the short life of pollen and the difficulty of collecting sufficient pollen for on-demand pollinations. To advance our work in this important area, PowerPollen was awarded the SBIR grant. Our project will prove the feasibility of developing a scalable technology for collecting large volumes of viable wheat pollen.

2020 Iowa Biotech Leader Award Recipient

March 11, 2020 – CEO Todd Krone honored to receive this year’s Iowa Biotech Leader Award from Iowa Biotech Association.

2019 Papajohn Entrepreneurial Venture Competition – Finalist

September 4, 2019 – For second year in a row, PowerPollen was a finalist for the John Papajohn Iowa Entrepreneurial Venture Competition.

2018 Papajohn Entrepreneurial Venture Competition – 1st Place

PowerPollen received first place and was awarded $40,000. Power Pollen℠ is an advanced crop yield enhancement technology that enables higher productivity in seed and grain production.

2018 Ankeny Economic Development Growth Award

Agbioscience startup PowerPollen took home a growth award from the Ankeny Economic Development Community for doubling its facility on SE Creekview Drive.

2018 DMACC Small Business Award – Most Innovative Company

The annual Des Moine​s Area Community College Small Business Awards Ceremony recognizes the achievements and economic impact small business has on the Central Iowa economy.

2018 Ag Company of the Year – Technology Association of Iowa’s Prometheus Awards

Ankeny-based agtech company PowerPollen℠ was named the Iowa Ag Technology Company of the Year during the Technology Association of Iowa’s (TAI) 2018 Prometheus Awards.

2017 USDA Small Business Grant 

The USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture awarded PowerPollen with a small business grant in support of scaling and broad application of its patented pollination technology for corn.